External Advisory Boards

You are here

NRRI has two Advisory Boards that represent a blend of stakeholders and community leaders. Their purpose is to inform, guide and advise NRRI leadership in pursuing mission-focused initiatives. 

Strategy & Development Advisory Board

  • Board Chair Mike Mlinar, Retired Vice President, Cliffs Natural Resources, Inc.
  • Board Chair Jay Schrankler, Associate Vice President for Research, University of Minnesota
  • Mark Phillips, Commissioner, Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board
  • Yvonne Prettner Solon, Consultant on energy policy, Former MN Lt. Governor, MN Senator
  • Susan M. Galatowitsch, UM Co-Director, Minnesota Aquatic Invasive Species Research Center
  • Nels Ojard, President, Krech Ojard
  • Andrea Schokker, Professor and Head of Civil Engineering, UMD
  • Peter Sellwood

Community Impact Advisory Board

  • Board Chair Julie Marinucci,  Senior Project Engineer, Short Elliott Hendrickson
  • John Downing, Director, Minnesota Sea Grant
  • Brendan Jordan, Vice President, Great Plains Institute
  • Randy Kolka, Team Leader and Research Ecologist, USDA Forest Service 
  • Vince Magnuson, Retired UMD Vice Chancellor, Chemistry/Biochemistry
  • Joe Mayasich Director of Environmental Services, Western Lake Superior Sanitary District
  • Frank Ongaro, Executive Director, Mining Minnesota
  • Brian PalikTeam Leader and Research Soil Scientist, USDA Forest Service
  • Ida Rukavina, Northern Minnesota Citizen

To contact any of NRRI's Advisory Board members, please email Trish Sodahl at tsodahl@d.umn.edu.