You are here

NRRI Advisory Boards

Group of men and women posing in outdoor setting

NRRI External Advisory Board Members

NRRI has two Advisory Boards that represent a blend of stakeholders and community leaders. Their purpose is to inform, guide and advise NRRI leadership in pursuing mission-focused initiatives. 

Strategy & Development Advisory Board

  • Board Chair Andrea Schokker, Professor and Head of Civil Engineering, UMD
  • Mike Mlinar, Retired Vice President, Cliffs Natural Resources, Inc.
  • Mark Phillips, Commissioner, Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board
  • Yvonne Prettner Solon, Consultant on energy policy, Former MN Lt. Governor, MN Senator
  • Susan M. Galatowitsch, UM Co-Director, Minnesota Aquatic Invasive Species Research Center
  • Nels Ojard, President, Krech Ojard
  • Ann Glumac, Consultant of Glumac Executive Enterprise
  • Al Rudeck, Allete

Community Impact Advisory Board

  • Julie Marinucci, Mineral Development Specialist, St. Louis County Land and Minerals Department
  • John Downing, Director, Minnesota Sea Grant
  • Brendan Jordan, Vice President, Great Plains Institute
  • Randy Kolka, Team Leader and Research Ecologist, USDA Forest Service
  • Tom Lambrecht, Manager of Economic Development Services, Great River Energy 
  • Vince Magnuson, Retired UMD Vice Chancellor, Chemistry/Biochemistry
  • Joe Mayasich Director of Environmental Services, Western Lake Superior Sanitary District
  • Brian PalikTeam Leader and Research Soil Scientist, USDA Forest Service
  • John Rajala, Vice Chair, Rajala Woods Foundation & Owner Reforester Manufacturer Leader, Rajala Companies
  • Ida Rukavina, Northern Minnesota Citizen

To contact any of NRRI's Advisory Board members, please email Jane Dzuck at or call 218-788-2607.